Myrna Brown Competition Winners

The Texas Flute Society is proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Myrna W. Brown Artist Competition.

Martin Godoy: 1st Place and Best Performance of Commissioned Work

Martin Godoy is the second prize winner for the Mid-South Young Artist (2018), Mid-Atlantic Young Artist (2018), and Flutissimo Young Artist Competitions (2016). He has also participated in the National Flute Association Young Artist Competition, the Byron Hester Competition, and the Texas Flute Society Myrna Brown Competition. Martin received his degrees in Music Education (BM) and Performance (MM) from the University of Texas at Arlington His principal teachers include Dr. James Scott, Terri Sundberg, Dr. Elizabeth McNutt, Sarah Frisof, and Janice Grannell. Martin has had the privilege of performing with the Las Colinas Symphony and the Dallas Winds.
Martin is currently pursuing his DMA at the University of North Texas and formerly served as a Teaching Fellow. In addition to his studies and activities in music, he also teaches dance and color guard.

Marley Eder: 2nd Place

A native of Los Angeles, Marley Eder is currently pursuing a Masters degree at Louisiana State University. He has been the recipient of a number of awards and honors including 1st prize in the senior division and young artist division of the MTNA national competition. The winner of a number of concerto competitions, he is a winner of the Colburn Orchestra de Camera concerto competition, the Eastern Music Festival competition, and 1st  prize in the Louisiana State University concerto competition.

An advocate of new music, Eder is the flutist and co-director of Hear No Evil, a Pierrot ensemble that regularly performs the music of our time in Austin, Texas. He has been a featured artist on a number of contemporary music series including Fast Forward Austin, Tetractys, Beethoven, the John Cage Centenary Festival, Excessive Noise, the New Music and Art Summit, the Cohen New Works Festival and Revel concert series. He has also given world premieres to over seventy-five works for solo flute and mixed ensembles by composers in Bloomington, Los Angeles, Seattle, Ithaca, Austin and Baton Rouge. Unrelated to classical music, he has performed and recorded with several ensembles spanning rock, jazz, Brazilian choros, and unstructured improvisation at festivals such as South by Southwest.

Eder holds a Bachelors degree from the Butler School of Music at the University of Texas. His principal teachers include Rosy Sackstein, Jim Walker, Anne Zentner, Marianne Gedigian, and Katherine Kemler.

Antonina Styczeń: 3rd Place

Flutist Antonina Styczeń comes from a small town in Southern Poland. At the age of five upon hearing John William’s Princess Leia theme from Star Wars, Antonina set her mind on a career as flutist. By the age of six, she had enrolled in an a local flute class at the local primary school and since then has started a career as a new creative voice in the world of classical music. Although at the beginning of her career, Antonina has made TV appearances, recorded a cd, as a concerto soloist, created large scale crowd sourced projects, performed music in unlikely spaces and is comfortable performing in classical, jazz, rock and improvised idioms. A dynamic performer and a true entrepreneur Antonina hopes to create projects for the flute will change the idea of what classical soloist should sound like.

A graduate with distinction from both the Fryderyk Chopin University of Music in Warsaw, Poland and the prestigious conservatory Queen Sofia College of Music in Madrid, Spain (flute class of Jacques Zoon), Antonina is currently a graduate student at the Boston Conservatory at Berklee as a member of Sarah Brady’s flute studio. She benefited from masterclass guidance from respected pedagogues such as Andras Adorjan, Walter Auer, Samuel Coles, David Dolan, Carsten Eckert, Pierre Ives-Artaud, Andrea Lieberknecht, and Nadine Asin. Lauerate of more than 20 music competitions and recipient of number of high-caliber scholarships, including Miami Music Festival Concerto Competition 1st Prize, First Prize at grand Prize Virtuoso Competition at the Royal Albert Hall, London, Second prize at XV Jeunesse International Music Competition in Bucharest, Romania, full scholarship from Fundacion Albeniz for studies at Queen Sofia College of Music in Madrid, as well as four times Polish Ministry of Culture and National Heritage prize for extraordinary artistic achievements.

In 2016 together with the Polish Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor Wojciech Rajski (professor at Hochschule fur Musik and Darstellende Kunst in Frankfurt, Germany) Antonina created her debut album „Mieczyslaw Wajnberg: Works for flute” published by a highly selective specialist German recording label TACET. The album was nominated for the 2017 International Classical Music Award and the Prize of German Critics.

Together with pianist Eliza Puchianu and cellist William Laney, Antonina formed Alara Ensemble trio which won 1st prize at Boston Conservatory at Berklee Honors Ensemble Competition. In three short months since being together they have performed 6 concerts at venues such as the Boston Museum of Fine Arts and Harvard University. A video of their arrangement of Piazzolla’s Four Seasons is released by the Berklee College of Music.

Actively involved in electronic music and improvised music, Antonina formed collaborated with Soprano Aleksandra Klimczak and pianist-composer Andrzej Karalow and together created „Witkacy 622 vol. 1: Performance for opera singer, electronics, harp and flute. Currently she is working as a producer on recital projects that include DJ, and electronic reimagining of the Telemann Flute Fantasies and a recital that includes electronic compositions that Antonina has composed.

A passionate horse rider, Antonina has been associated with Chojnow Stables where she is training with the multiple Polish Championship winner and Olympic rider – Grzegorz Kubiak. Her greatest achievement is winning the junior vice-championship of Poland in Show Jumping. Antonina’s long term dream is to connect both passions in a novel mix of music and equitation with a performance while riding.

Previous Winners

1st Place 2nd Place 3rd Place
2018 Martin Godoy Marley Eder Antonina Styczeń
2017 Drew Powell Won Lee Nicholas Goodwin
2016 Timothy Hagen Hannah Michelle Leffler Suyeon Ko
2015 Isabel Lepanto Gleicher Anna Meyer Lauren Watkins
2014 Kristyn Son Jesse Tatum Alexandra Miller
2013 Brittney Balkcom Matthew Ross Emlyn Johnson
2012 Valerie Estes Johnson Joanna Martin François Minaux
2011 Shauna Kay Thompson Terri Sánchez Lissie Okopny
2010 Seth Allyn Morris Shauna Kay Thompson Brittany Foster
2009 Daniel Alexander Brittany Foster I-Jeng Yeh
2008 Pethrus Gardborn Bonnie Ham Hilary Abigana
2007 Rebecca Powell Garfield Bonnie Ham Deanna Little
2006 Elena Yárritu Naomi Seidman
2005 Leah Arsenault Sammy Fuks
2004 Clint Foreman Elena Yárritu Elizabeth Brightbill
2003 Yuki Otsuka Jessica Lizak Jocelyn Goranson
2002 Alexander Viazovtsev Erinn Frechette Li-Chu Huang
2001 Lance Sanford
2000 Erika Leake
1999 Beth Chandler
1998 Stephanie Mortimore
1997 Betsy Thurman Reeds
1996 Maria Harding
1995 Carolyn Brown
1994 Brian Luce
1993 Helen Bledsoe
1992 Beth Walker
1991 Alison Young Rasch
1990 Rebecca West
1989 Helen Blackburn
1988 Paul St. Laurent
1987 Lisa Read and Jill Swetnam
1986 Pam Adams


Follow us on: Facebooktwitterinstagram