Donna Marie Haire Competition Winners

The Texas Flute Society is proud to announce the winners of the 2017 Donna Marie Haire Young Artist Competition.

1st Place: Subin Cho

Subin Cho, 15 years old, is a sophomore at Keller High School. She has been studied with Monica Song for 5 years. She is member of top orchestra in Greater Dallas Youth Orchestra and 6A Texas All-State member. Her individual achievements include a first place of the Dallas Symphonic Festival Junior Concerto Division Compeitition also a prize winner of the Dallas Symphonic Festival Senior Concerto Competition, outstanding soloist of the Texas Flute Festival for 3 years, outstanding ensemble of the Texas Flute Festival for 2 years, outstanding soloist at TCU Flute Festival for 2 years, outstanding soloist and ensemble of Keller ISD Solo & Ensemble Compeititon, and first place of the Claire Johnson Competition. She has performed in several master classes for well-known flutists including Jim Walker, Marina Piccinini, Amy Porter, Sarah Jackson, and Shauna Thompson.




2nd Place: Yeongjae Jo

Yeongjae Jo has been studying with Monica Song for 2 years. Currently, he is a member of Greater Dallas Youth Orchestra Philharmonic program. He also is a member of Texas All-State member. He was a Outstanding soloist and was a part of Outstanding duet at the Texas Flute Festival. He was second place at the DMTA’s Dallas symphonic Festival senior sonata division last year. This year he got third place at the DMTA’s Dallas symphonic Festival in senior concerto division. He was named semi-finalist at the Fort-Worth Orchestra Concerto Competition. He has performed masterclass/lessons with Marianne Gedigian, Conor Nelson, Claudia Ribeiro Do Nascimento,Charlotte Daniel, Kara Kirkendoll Welch, Helen Blackburn, and Shauna Thompson.


Previous Winners

1st Place 2nd Place
2016 Joanna Kim Alyssa Tinsley
2015 Isaiah Obey  Jarrett May
2014 Tiffany Jiang Crystal Kim
2013 Elizabeth Kang Joann Lee
2012 Shilpa Kudva Veronica Zheng


Follow us on: Facebooktwitterinstagram