The 2023
Myrna W. Brown
Commissioning Project

featuring a commissioned work by

Laura Brackney

For the 11th year, the Texas Flute Society is continuing with its commissioning project in conjunction with the Myrna W. Brown Competition. The composer selected for the 2023 composition is Laura Brackney. The piece will be required as part of the finals repertoire for the competition.

TFS is currently seeking donations from members and friends to raise money for this commissioned piece and future compositions in this series.

  • Those who donate $25 or more by April 1st will be listed in the festival program and will receive a TFS Bundle (if present at our festival).
  • Those who donate $75 or more by March 1st will have their name printed in the commissioned work’s score in addition to previous co-commission perks.
  • The first 25 members who donate $150 or more by March 1st will receive a signed copy of the commissioned work (6 month exclusive performing rights) in addition to previous co-commission perks.

You must be a TFS Member to co-commission.

Please mail checks to:

Texas Flute Society
PO Box 54202
Hurst, TX 76054

Checks should be made payable to Texas Flute Society. Please write “Myrna Brown” on the Memo line. You can also donate online through PayPal by completing and submitting the form at the bottom of this page.

Previous Commissions

2022American ElegyValerie Coleman
2021Hush of NightfallAnthony R. Green 
2020HxóSungji Hong 
2019Prelude in BlueJoel Love 
2018HomelandAllison Loggins-Hull 
2017PopTimothy Hagen 
2016Prestidigitation, or POOF!Gary Schocker 
2015In Memory of the 288Samuel Beebe 
2014Flight of FancyStephen LiasAlias Press
2013A Memory of MélisandeDaniel Pesca